Law Offices of Richard Tendler (561) 513-5315
Home Attorney Profile
Criminal Defense Se Habla Espanol Contact Us Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Avvo

Underage DUI Attorney in Boca Raton

Team Up With The Law Offices of Richard Tendler For Your DUI

The state of Florida has a drinking age of 21 years old. It is illegal for anyone under that age to consume any amount of alcohol and there are no exceptions to this law. Many states have exceptions when given parental consent or for religious purposes, but Florida has stricter laws due to the number of alcohol-related fatalities involving underage drinkers. In order to be charged with a DUI when under age 21, your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) must appear at .02% or above.

If you are facing charges for an underage DUI in Boca Raton, obtain representation from a DUI attorney at the Law Offices of Richard Tendler right away. There are strict penalties on the line plus a conviction that can stay on your criminal record. All too often, minors think a first DUI offense is not a big deal and they take the conviction and license suspension. What you may not realize is that a conviction can affect later cases and if you are ever arrested for another DUI in the future, the consequences will be increased.

Potential Penalties for Underage DUI in Florida

The specific penalties for this type of offense can differ depending on the BAC level of the driver and if there is a prior DUI offense on record. The consequences on the line for underage DUI can include:

First Underage DUI in Florida

  • BAC above .02%: driver's license suspension for six months
  • BAC above .05%: driver's license suspension until 21st birthday or completion of substance abuse counseling
  • BAC above .08%: jail time and a fine

Second Underage DUI in Florida

  • BAC above .02%: driver's license suspension for 12 months
  • Higher BAC: between 10 days and 12 months in prison depending on BAC and a fine

Additional Charges with Underage DUI

When arrested for DUI under the age of 21, there are other offenses that you may be charged for as well. For example, if you are still in possession of alcohol you may be charged with minor in possession. If a false identification was used to purchase the alcohol, you may be facing charges for possession of a fake I.D. The presence of other minors could bring about more charges especially if they are drunk as well. To avoid the criminal penalties on the line as well as the consequences that an underage DUI can have on your insurance policy, contact my firm. It is not uncommon for insurance companies to increase the monthly costs for insurance after this type of conviction. You need aggressive representation to protect your rights and fight against the charges. I have 15 years of experience representing the criminally accused and have handled countless underage DUI cases, call my firm today to see how I can help you.

Boca Raton Criminal Defense Lawyer | Criminal Defense | Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy

Attorney Web Design

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.